Comedy YA to look forward to in 2017!

Posted on 11/01/17 in Katy's Corner

In celebration of my third book in The It Girl series coming out tomorrow, I wanted to give a shout out to just some of the AMAZING comedy YA novels hitting the shelves in 2017.

The books below are written by authors who I’m very lucky to have met, and their incredible hard work is so appreciated and loved. I hope they will continue to write books and inspire more comedy writing from others. The world always needs more laughter!

Is there a comedy book coming out this year that you would like to add to this list? Comment below or tweet me @KatyBirchall

Waiting for Callback: Take Two

Perdita and Honor Cargill

Released: 26th January 2017

The first one was hilarious and heartwarming, I have no doubt the second in this brilliant series will be EVEN BETTER! And it’s an absolute honour that the blurb of Take Two (below) refers to The It Girl—Perdia and Honor, I love you guys, what a team!

Elektra has finally landed a part in a film. It’s the dream. Well … until she works out that Straker is a movie so dystopian that within weeks most of the cast and all of the crew wish that the world had actually ended (preferably in scene one). And while it’s obviously great news that she’s moved from the friend-zone with Archie to become his almost-girlfriend, it would be better if he hadn’t immediately relocated to Transylvania to play a vampire hunter surrounded by ‘maidens of peerless beauty’… Full of humour and warmth, this new series is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and The It Girl.

 Click here for more info on Take Two

Forever Geek (Geek Girl, Book 6)

Holly Smale

Released: 27th July 2017

This is the last in Holly’s hugely popular series (SOB!) and there’s no doubt that it will be the perfect finale

Modelling isn’t a sure-fire route to popularity. Neither is making endless lists.

The people you love don’t expect you to transform into someone else.

Statistically you are more likely to not meet your Australian ex-boyfriend in Australia than bump into him there.

So on the trip of a lifetime Down Under Harriet’s to-do lists are gone and it’s Nat’s time to shine! Yet with nearly-not-quite-boyfriend Jasper back home, Harriet’s completely unprepared to see supermodel ex Nick. Is the fashion world about to turn ugly for GEEK GIRL?

It’s time for Harriet to face the future. Time to work out where her heart lies. To learn how to let go…

 Click here for more info on Forever Geek

Editing Emma: The Secret Blog of a nearly Proper Person

Chloe Seager

Released: August 2017

(cover coming soon!)

If this debut novel is even half as funny as its author, then we’re all in for a big treat. I can’t WAIT to read this one.

After being ‘ghosted’ online by the love of her life, 16 year old Emma Nash finds solace in social media. Instead of stalking her ex online (Emma would never ever ever do that), she starts her blog Editing Emma to make positive changes to her life and wield the internet for good not evil. This turns out to be a complicated challenge, and brings Emma on a self-editing journey of love, laughter, friendship and what really matters in life.

For more info on Editing Emma click here

Girls Can’t Hit

T.S. Easton

Released: April 2017

YAY! A new book by Tom Easton is coming our way this year so make sure you make you note of it. The premise of this book sounds brilliant and inspiring, and we can always count on Mr Easton to make us laugh out loud. 

A funny, feminist teen story about knowing when to train …and when to fight. Fleur Waters never takes anything seriously – until she turns up at her local boxing club one day, just to prove a point. She’s the only girl there, and the warm-up alone is exhausting …but the workout gives her an escape from home and school, and when she lands her first uppercut on a punching bag she feels a rare glow of satisfaction. So she goes back the next week, determined to improve. Fleur’s overprotective mum can’t abide the idea of her entering a boxing ring, why won’t she join her pilates class instead? Her friends don’t get it either and even her boyfriend, ‘Prince’ George, seems concerned by her growing muscles and appetite – but it’s Fleur’s body, Fleur’s life, so she digs her heels in and carries on with her training. When she finally makes it into the ring, her friends and family show their support and Fleur realises that sometimes in life it’s better to drop your guard and take a wild swing!

For more info on Girls Can’t Hit click here for the Waterstones link

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *